EDUCATION REVIEW OFFICE


Assessment in Primary Schools: A Guide for Parents (December 2008) 30/11/2008

6. Finding Out More

You may want to find out more about what you have read in this report. This section tells you where to get further information or resources.

Use a search engine (like Google or Yahoo) to find information on the tools used in assessment (for example search for asTTle). This technique leads to relevant parts of Te Kete Ipurangi, Team-Up and other useful websites.

Education Review Office

The Education Review Office (ERO) is the Government department that has responsibility for reviewing schools and early childhood education services. ERO publishes reports on the quality of education each school is providing for children. Reports of school reviews contain information about the quality of assessment processes used and what school personnel know about student achievement in their school. You can get an ERO report from the school or from the ERO office nearest to the school. All reports are available on the ERO website.

ERO also publishes National Education Evaluation Reports that include information on practices in schools across all of New Zealand. You can ask for copies of any national education evaluation reports from any ERO office, you can email: info@ero.govt.nz, or read them on the ERO website:

www.ero.govt.nz

ERO Offices

Corporate Office
Box 2799
Level 1, Sybase House, 101 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6140
Phone: 0-4-499 2489 Fax: 0-4-499 2482
Email: info@ero.govt.nz

Te Uepū-ā-Motu (Māori Reporting Services)
ERO Corporate Office (see above)
Email: erotu@ero.govt.nz

Auckland (Area One)
Box 7219 Wellesley Street
Level 5, URS Centre, 13-15 College Hill
Ponsonby, Auckland 1010
Phone: 0-9-377 1331 Fax: 0-9-373 3421
Email: auckland@ero.govt.nz

Moana Pasefika
Auckland Office (see above)
Email: auckland@ero.govt.nz

Hamilton (Area Two)
Private Bag 3095 WMC
3rd Floor, ASB Building, 214 Collingwood Street, Hamilton 3240
Phone: 0-7-838 1898 Fax: 0-7-838 1893
Email: hamilton@ero.govt.nz

Rotorua (Area Two)
Box 335
Floor 5, Zens Centre, 41 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3040
Phone: 0-7-348 2228 Fax: 0-7-348 1498
Email: rotorua@ero.govt.nz

Napier (Area Three)
Box 742
Level 1, 43 Station Street, Napier 4140
Phone: 0-6-835 8143 Fax: 0-6-835 8578
Email: napier@ero.govt.nz

Wanganui (Area Three)
Box 4023, 249 Victoria Ave, Wanganui 4541
Phone: 0-6-345 4091 Fax: 0-6-345 7207
Email: wanganui@ero.govt.nz

Wellington (Area Four)
Box 27 002
Level 8, Southmark Building, 203 - 209 Willis Street, Wellington 6141
Phone: 0-4-381 6800 Fax: 0-4-381 6801
Email: wellington@ero.govt.nz

Nelson (Area Four)
Box 169
Floor 2, 241 Hardy Street, Nelson 7040
Phone: 0-3-546 8513 Fax: 0-3-546 2259
Email: nelson@ero.govt.nz

Christchurch (Area Five)
Box 25 102
4th Floor, Pyne Gould Corp Bldg, 233 Cambridge Tce, Christchurch 8144
Phone: 0-3-365 5860 Fax: 0-3-366 7524
Email: christchurch@ero.govt.nz

Dunedin (Area Five)
Box 902
Floor 9, John Wickliffe House, Princes Street, Dunedin 9054
Phone: 0-3-479 2619 Fax: 0-3-479 2614
Email: dunedin@ero.govt.nz

Back to top

Site map